12.09.2009

does reviewing require any reading time?

Every few years Private America or Windbreaker has another child which delays the return to our respective comic book hobbies. I've still got boxes of issues that haven't been reviewed here, but that's also because I haven't read them. I'm just shocked blogger.com hasn't taken this site down yet!

3.02.2007

your comic review hosts are lame...

I can't believe we haven't posted since August 06! Private America, I'm calling you out! Pick up enough slack for both of us and post some reviews!

I've been reading 52... sort of. Other titles have piled up: Superman, Detective Comics, Green Lantern, and Teen Titans. Am I even pulling TT? I can't remember... lame.

8.03.2006

ACTION COMICS #841

8/10 (Story: 4.5; Art: 3.5)

Busiek also writes this one, about an alien race of collectors that finds Earth and, well, starts collecting. They are particularly interested in religious artifacts, and at one point they digitize the entirety of St. Patrick's Cathedral in order to "sell it" to interested bidders elsewhere in the galaxy. Superman, Firestorm, Nightwing, and the Teen Titans join forces to try to stop them.

The story is neat. I don't know if these villains have appeared anywhere before. If not, I give Busiek very high marks for creativity. Art is pretty good, nothing exceptional.

8.02.2006

52 #4 - #12

9.5/10

Story: every writer on the DC staff
Art: anyone not writing

I'm not going to even begin summarizing all the important events in this book. For now, just understand that there are amazing stories being told that don't directly involve the major heroes of the DCU.

Check out the official 52 website.

GREEN LANTERN #10 - #12

10/10

Story: Geoff Johns
Art: Ivan Reis

"Revenge of the Green Lanterns" parts 1-3. Boy am I glad this book didn't get axed from my recent pull list downsizing! This arc is part of the One Year Later continuity and Johns continues his amazing blend of pre- and post-Infinite Crisis history while spinning an exciting story in the present. GL rookies are learning about Hal Jordan's checkered past -- well, you know, killing a bunch of GLs a while back while possessed by Parallax.

SUPERMAN #654

7/10 (Story: 3.5; Art: 3.5)

Most the art deduction is for the lettering, which is really obnoxious. The penciling and coloring are nice, though.

The story...meh. It's not original, but of course Busiek tells it with great flair. I'm hoping Busiek can come up with some good, post-IC stories. This is more a "day in the life" story rather than the start of a cool, new arc.

BATMAN #655

9/10 (Story: 4; Art: 5)

Great issue. I am a little concerned about the story, but I won't say anything until Windbreaker reads #654.

Art is STUNNINGLY GOOD. Some of the best art I've seen in a Batman book.

7.28.2006

THE ALL NEW ATOM #1

8/10

Gail Simone does a great job introducing us to the new Atom, who has some interesting connections to the old Atom. I will probably rack pull this one for now, but I think it could be very interesting. The art isn't my cup of tea, but it is serviceable.

WONDER WOMAN #!

8.5/10

Good first issue! Got the title on my pull list, anyway.

JUSTICE LEAGUE OF AMERICA #0

9.5/10

Wow!

BATMAN #654

10+/10

One of the greatest single issues I've ever read...this is the first comic book that made me cry!

No spoilers until Windbreaker reads it...